Paul Reed Smith and Eightlock Release Debut Album, 'Lions Roaring in Quicksand'

Posted Dec 01, 2023


Paul Reed Smith and Eightlock Release Debut Album, 'Lions Roaring in Quicksand'

Lions Roaring in Quicksand, the debut album from Paul Smith’s band Eightlock is now available! Distributed by Amplified Distribution via Steele Records, Lions Roaring in Quicksand, contains ten powerful original songs. Additionally, the album features a number of cover tunes including Maná’s “Ay, Doctor,” as well as scintillating versions of the Al Green soul classic, “Love and Happiness,” the legendary Edwin Starr song, “War,” and “99,” by Elliot Moss. Ahead of the release, the lead single, “Breathe,” was made available digitally earlier this month and a release party was recently held at Rams Head On Stage in Annapolis, MD.

PRS Eightlock Lions Roaring in Quicksand

Consisting of three drummers (Dennis Chambers, Gregory Grainger, Ju Ju House), a bassist (Gary Grainger), a female vocalist (Mia Samone Davis), and three guitar players (Paul Smith, Mike Ault, Bill Nelson) the band takes its name from the groove that these eight high-level musicians “lock” into onstage and in the studio. Eightlock’s sound is a heady brew of blues, soul, and rock all stirred up into a groove-alicious gumbo with its roots in Baltimore funk, DC go-go, and New Orleans swing.

“This group of highly respected and world-renowned musicians have a lot to say musically and spiritually,” Paul Reed Smith says. “It’s been an absolute joy to be the catalyst for their gifts resulting in the music found in Lions Roaring in Quicksand.” Added guitarist/vocalist Bill Nelson: “The musicianship in Eightlock is extraordinary, but what amazes me most is that the music – both the recordings and live performances – just keep getting better and better. Locking into an Eightlock groove is a dream.” And dynamic lead singer Mia Samone Davis summed it up by saying, “Creating this CD reminded me that, ‘Peace is the price when the mind is at war’……inner peace is priceless.”

Lions Roaring in Quicksand – Track List

  1. Sarah
  2. Never Give Up on Livin'
  3. I'm Ready
  4. Love and Happiness
  5. Man in the Moon
  6. Breathe
  7. War
  8. Phoenix in My Blood
  9. Drivin' At Night
  10. Look At The Moon
  11. Ay, Doctor
  12. Echoes
  13. He's the One
  14. 99


    Listen and learn more:
    Eightlock on Facebook
    Eightlock on X
    Eightlock on Instagram